How to be more tolerant, or the story of the gardens

Cómo ser más tolerante, o la historia de los jardines

I like stories. And I’m sure you do too.

No wonder ancient cultures used storytelling as a way to give the young ones lessons from the old wisdom. They will be told from father to sons, around the fire, by an expert storyteller who would use all his power to spread wisdom.

Now, I’ll use my storytellers ancestors wisdom to tell you a small story.

 

In my garden, there are flowers of many kinds, shapes and forms. I grow them on pots, cups, old jars, hollowed stones, beautiful vessels or inside the most horrendous containers.

I grow trees of different sizes and species. Some of them give the best shadow, others are no more than death branches. During summer I collect the sweetest fruits, and by winter I survive from the tasteless remnants.

 

They are useless weed all over the place that I found myself unable to get out, whose roots get between my beautiful plants, trying to get the nutrients out, suffocate and kill them in the very end.

My garden is full of all kinds of life. Fruits to eat, medicinal plants and incredibly toxic herbs. But they are all part of my garden. And just like that, I love it.

That garden is my mind. My ideas, beliefs, knowledge, experiences, lessons, etc. Some are good, beautiful and healing. Others, bad. Even toxic or destructive. But they are all mine. 

If tomorrow someone invites you to his house, and he has a garden in the entrance, would you go tear toxic plants, thinking it’s for the house owner’s good, without asking if it’s ok?

That’s what we do with people around us. We attack their beliefs and most loved values just because we think they are “stupid”, “useless” or even “toxic”. But each garden has it’s owner, and it must be respected as much as our own. 

That’s why, when you see a “toxic” plant in your neighbor’s garden, before you want to tear it apart, ask if you’re allowed to work on that garden. Or even better… wait until you’re asked for help. Then, share your plants, the ones you believe will make your neighbor’s garden more beautiful, healthy, useful…

If he decides he likes what you suggest, plant the seed where you’re allowed to do it. And nurture it, take care of it. Until one day, that seed becomes a tree or a flower.

 

 

 

But do not alter other people’s garden without permission. You wouldn’t like others to come destroy yours. 

Remember respect is the base of all happiness. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

